Skip to content

24-Day Challenge – 2 Weeks In & 5lbs Down

November 12, 2012

Today marks my 15th day on the AdvoCare 24-Day Challenge. As I noted two weeks ago, it was a way for me to do a mini-sugar detox before the holidays. I always feel better when I eat clean, and am more energized and less foggy when I’m not overrun with sugar.

This picture was taken this morning. I am wearing Size 6 “The Diva” skinny jeans from Old Navy that I just bought less than two months ago.

I don’t want to complain. I swear, I don’t want to be one of those skinny bitches that complains about losing weight. But I’ve bought a new wardrobe a good three or four times over this year. At the beginning of January, I was a Size 12 and 145 pounds when I started my three month sugar/gluten/dairy detox. Two weeks ago, I was a size 6-8 and 119.2 pounds. Now? It appears I need to go shopping again, as I’m down another pants size and another five pounds – pounds that I didn’t think I had to lose. This is getting pricey. 

I want to be clear, though, that this is not all about the weight, not even close. I am not sure if the pic shows it, but that’s definition there in the abs. Definition!  I’m a Momma of two, and yet, I think I might have a two-pack going! Woot! Is a six-pack possible? Not sure if that mini-baby bulge with the stretch marks will ever be eradicated, but a four-pack is definitely a possibility.

And my workouts? Well, I could kick myself in the head, because I’m not doing enough of them. I still don’t have the groove of daily exercise down just yet. But the workouts I have had in the past two weeks have been amazing. I feel like Superwoman. I did pushups – more than one – all the way down to my nose. Fine, they were still girly pushups on my knees, but I did like 10-15 of them in one set! What!?

Most of my meals have been really good. I’m eating lots of roasted veggies, sweet potatoes, with seasoned fish and chicken. Also, a lot of taco-seasoned ground meat topped with quinoa and tons of veggies, lots of fruit topped with chopped walnuts. I need to do better with drinking more water. I know better. But between not being bogged down by sugar overload and the serious vitamin and mineral boost from the supplements, I kind of feel like I could take on the world. I just have to stuff a piece of fruit in my pocket when I head out, because I get hungry Fast and Furious!

I’m looking forward this this last week of the Challenge. No changes, no big surprises. Just continue eating the same and taking the supplements. I need to increase my exercise if I really want to reap the benefits of the Challenge. I Know that, so let’s hope I Do that.

Would you ever consider cutting out all sugar from your diet? What is keeping you from trying it? Given that sugar causes inflammation in the body, and inflammation is the root of most all disease, I really recommend giving it a try. You don’t have to go bat-shit crazy and do it for three months like I did earlier this year. But cutting it out for a short time period will give your body a reset, and you’re likely to eat less sugar overall once you start eating it again.

What the one thing you’ve done while exercising that you’re most proud of? Maybe it’s a max number of reps, or a move you thought impossible. I thought I had defeated Kahn when I did 15 pushups to my nose in a row. I still have some strengthening work to do in my back to do pushups military-style.

Do “Before” pictures scare you? They do me. I’ve taken a ton of them in my years, but not so many “After” pictures. Looking forward to my “After” pictures next week. 🙂

Have something to say?

