Skip to content

I Would, In Fact, Marry Mexican Food

November 16, 2012

I am about to get Out and Proud about my love of Mexican food. I love the flavors, the variety, the colors, the tastes, sites and sounds. Yes, I would even marry it. I could eat it every night of the week if my family would let me, and as it is, we already eat it at least twice a week. Monday Night Taco Night is often accompanied with fajitas on Wednesday or chicken tortilla soup on Thursday. And I am not even talking about lunch.

If you think Mexican food cannot be yummy and healthy, then it is time to rethink your traditional Mexican fare. I do not think too many of us would dispute that a couple of deep fried chimichangas topped with sour cream, cheese and guacamole does not classify as “health food.” But you can eat Mexican food in a healthy way without thinking “This diet sucks.”

Let me show you…

You can have healthy Mexican at a restaurant! I asked for the Carne Asada, with peppers, without rice or beans, extra lettuce and pico de gallo, and a dollop of guac on top.

A taco salad with lots of fresh avocado on top.

A taco salad topped with my chicken fajitas and pinto beans instead of taco meat. I know, I’m gettin’ crazy.

Ever had Sloppy Joses? Top a whole grain bun with taco meat, lettuce, tomato slices and chopped green olives. A little Spanish quinoa and black beans on the side. Delicioso!

Another delish taco salad, this time topped with luscious tomato slices.

Another Mexican meal out – a chicken taco salad without the large, fried taco shell, at Moe’s Southwestern Grill.

Taco Salad? Yes, thank you – this time served on top of some organic tortilla chips and some quinoa.

Why, you little taco salad, has it already been a week? This time, no tortilla chips, but I threw in some chopped green bell pepper. And the squeeze of fresh lime juice takes it over the top.

I could probably post another eight photos of eight other ways to eat Mexican food. Because the combination possibilities are endless! If you see anything you like, let me know, I am happy to share any recipes.

What is your favorite Mexican dish? Fajitas are probably my favorite to order out – seasoned delishiousness wrapped up in a corn tortilla.

What would your Last Meal be? Given all this Mexican love I am showing today, you would be surprised to know that my dream Last Meal would be….
A medium rare petite filet mignon, topped with a port wine-gorgonzola reduction mushroom sauce, paired with a side of garlic mashed red potatoes and roasted asparagus. And a glass of Shiraz. Mmmmmmmm…..

No comments yet

Have something to say?

