Skip to content

30 Days of Gratitude: 11/17-11/22

November 22, 2012
tags:

Saturday, November 17 through Thursday, November 22, 2012 – It has been a week. The downhill slide started last week when, each night, I had to tend to some small child with a stomach ache, cough, leg cramp, or just general middle-of-the-night-needing-mom. My last workout was last Thursday, and when I woke up Friday morning, I felt it. Exhaustion setting in. I did not help it – I went to a 10pm movie with girlfriends, stayed up well past 1am. Saturday, I was a Zombie, and that day also marked six months since my dad died. It was an all around No Good, Very Bad Day.

On Sunday, after a decent night’s rest, I thought, “OK, I can do this!” And by the end of the evening came news that my husband’s Granddad, long ill with Alzheimer’s, passed away.

I cannot explain how the grief knocked me over. Very unexpected.

So today, on Thanksgiving, I am so very thankful for so many things:

I am thankful for my Dad – the man who taught me everything I know about cooking and with whom I loved sharing Thanksgiving meals ideas with, and the man that I miss so terribly this week.

I am thankful for the Grace that God bestows upon me each day. Without His Grace, I am nothing.

I am thankful for the sun that rises each and every day, a little gift from God that says to me that I’ve been granted another 24 hours here on this Earth.

I am thankful for the blessings of a stocked refrigerator and pantry, and the ability to buy the food I need to nourish my family so that we may mourn…celebrate…cherish each other’s company.

I am grateful for sorrow and for mourning, because it is in sorrow that we often feel the most human and vulnerable – and we would not be who we are if it weren’t for the sorrow-filled moments in our life.

I am grateful for my Mom – who celebrates her 59th birthday today, Thanksgiving Day; who has been the rock for my sister and me for the past six months, who has faced adversity that I cannot fathom, and yet continues to share her love and beauty with us every day. I love you so very much, Mom.

I wish you all a Very Happy Thanksgiving. May you all have a blessed day and feel truly thankful for this life.

No comments yet

Have something to say?

