Skip to content

2013 Goals: What a Difference a Year Makes

January 1, 2013

Welcome, 2013! What a crazy difference a year makes! To say my life has changed would be a huge understatement – from huge accomplishments to devastating family losses, I would never have imagined.

But if I learned anything from 2012, it is that anything is possible. A year ago, I was 144-145 pounds, a size 12/14 and felt like a big slug. I had high hopes for my blog, but put nothing in writing. I had intentions of becoming a full treasurer for a non-profit, but fell flat on my face.

Image

That’s me on the left – not a great picture, but this is midnight, ringing in 2012. And I think it kind of reflects how I looked and felt at that moment. Happy…but, you know…yeah.

Today, I am 112-113 pounds, a size 4/6 and feel Ah-Mazing. I eat in a completely new and healthier way. I am also without my Dad today, but this has given me a renewed focus on what I want for my life and my family. My priorities have shifted and I have the ability to make life changes to reflect that. We all know the saying “That which does not kill us makes us stronger.” I feel like 2012 is living proof of that.

Image

Hubby and I on Santa’s lap just a few weeks ago. Truly happy. 30 pounds lighter. Headed in a completely different direction than a year ago.

So what are your resolutions goals for 2013? I know you have them, no matter what wording you choose to use. There is something you would like to change this year. What is it? Is it in your career or your health? Your family life? Maybe it is all of the above and then some. Please do something for me and yourself today. Write these things down. Get them out of your head and onto a sheet of paper (or blog post or tablet or napkin). Where do you want to be on this day a year from now? Once you decide where you are going, it is much easier to figure out how to get there.

This is what I am looking at for 2013.

FitMommas.com

  • Reach 2500 followers on Facebook and Twitter each, with 250 daily readers.
  • Post meaningful content at least three times a week.
  • Add 1-2 other writers/contributors with their unique take on being a FitMomma or FitDaddy.
  • Offer a promotional item or product at least six times (once every two months) for my readers.
  • Establish a greater presence on Instagram and Pinterest.

Personal Health & Wellness

  • Make AdvoCare Advisor level, and build a small business that pays for my family’s use of products.
  • Get certified in group fitness instruction and teach 1-2 classes at one of the local gyms.
  • By Fall, get my Yoga instruction certification and possibly Personal Training certification as well.
  • Fully run a 5K by mid-year and attempt a 10K by the Fall.
  • Add 5-10 pounds of lean muscle.
  • Spend 10-15  minutes each morning meditating, reading the Bible, centering myself and listening to God.
  • Take at least 15 minutes each day to write.

Business & Volunteering

  • Apply what I have learned about social media marketing to non-profits and small businesses. Take on 2-3 clients to do their SMM for them.
  • Educate myself on PPC (pay-per-click) and SEM (search engine marketing) and apply what I learn to FitMommas and my clients.
  • Continue volunteering for the two non-profits that I am active in, but likely not take on new duties.

House and Home Life

  • Pay off the debt accrued from our major home remodel last year and once again be debt-free.
  • Before we start another Big project, complete the very long list of small projects we have. (This is a list in and of itself, all ready on Evernote for hubby and I to slowly check off.)
  • By Fall, start plans on a kitchen remodel (refinish cabinets, new countertops) and new flooring on our main level.
  • Get dinner on the table by 5:45 most nights. (Seriously, why is this so hard?)
  • Fill our home with items we love, not just things to fill spaces.

Personal Relationships

  • Continue my 26 Acts of Kindness, actively reaching out and affecting strangers each month.
  • Write more letters, less emails.
  • Take a real vacation with just my husband for our 10 year anniversary.
  • Encourage hubby to learn glass blowing. (Because he loves this!)
  • Make Couples Night happen at least once every two months.
  • Make Date Night happen at least twice a month. (Even if it is in-house after the kids go to bed!)
  • Make Family Night/Day happen at least once a month.
  • Plan at least one neighbor party.
  • Read 24 books – two per month. (I hit 21 of 24 last year! I can do this!)

This is my list as of today. This list is fluid, and no doubt will adjust as the year goes on. But it is out there and it reflects the direction I would like to see my life go.

What are you thinking about today? One thing I will tell you – last year, I spent the entire month of December 2011 preparing for my sugar/grain/dairy detox and hit the ground running. And I did so with little personal support. Basically, even those closest to me thought I was crazy. Change is Scary. And facing it alone is daunting. Whatever your list looks like today, whether it is one or two items, or a 10 page dissertation, you are not alone. This is your life to live, no one else’s! Of course you care what others think, but other people are not going to look at your list unfinished business at the end of their life.

Own this life. Own who you are and what you want. Are you tall and want to wear high heels? Then do it! (teehee!) Do you have a health problem that can be fixed by a drastic (yet friend-and-family-alienating) diet? I did and am living proof that you can come out the other side. Do you want a career change? Do you want a relationship change? Put it out there, write it down, and make a plan to get there.

If you feel like you do not have support in your life to make these changes happen, then write me. I will support you. I know that feeling of being alone in a journey. You are not alone. I leaned a lot on God during my three-month journey, and people still thought I was crazy, it just did not matter to me as much. Let me know how I can help you.

I have put it out there. You are all my accountability. I look forward to hearing your stories and walking beside you on your journeys. As I tell my kids all the time (but especially when ice skating): We all fall down. What matters is that you get back up and keep going.

Happy New Year, everyone! HUGS and Love,

Amy first name only signature

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2013 12:31 am

    Gosh, inspiring stuff here. Is that really you in both pics?Some long list you have there for 2013. Looking forward to watching you succeed!

    • January 2, 2013 1:04 pm

      Thanks so much, Red Hen! Yes, that is really me in both pics. I try to avoid claiming others as myself. 🙂
      I’m very excited about this year. Many of the items on the list are things we all say out loud, I just put them down with more Intention. Some of them are true, ambitious goals to change the direction of my life.

      It’s all good either way!

Trackbacks

  1. Perspective and “Ambitious Resolutions” « FitMommas

Have something to say?

