Skip to content

Looks Like Last Night’s Dinner: Paleo-Friendly Stuffed Bell Peppers

January 24, 2013

The 24 Day Challenge diet is really not that far off from a Paleo diet. The exceptions are that the 24DC allows for some low-glycemic grains and Paleo allows some sugar. As my Challengers and I have been sharing some recipes, I found myself craving stuffed bell peppers. I know, kinda weird. I set out to find a non-rice stuffed pepper recipe and found that there seem to be no less than 376 paleo-friendly stuffed bell pepper recipes online with which to draw inspiration.

In the end, I made up my own recipe. (So now there’s 377.) And I will do my best to present said recipe without breaking my arms while patting my own back. These were Delicious. I mean, I loved them, the hubby loved them, even the kids loved them! (The big kid forced down six bites of bell pepper with the mixture, and enjoyed the rest scooping with tortilla chips. The Beastie Boy scooped up his mixture with crackers.)

Salud!

photo (55)

Paleo-Friendly Stuffed Bell Peppers

Ingredients

  • 4-8 medium to large-sized bell peppers – any color
  • 1lb lean ground beef or ground turkey
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups finely chopped veggies – I used yellow squash, mushrooms and broccoli
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 28 oz can crushed tomatoes

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cook ground meat with onion and garlic.
  3. Add spices, chopped veggies and tomatoes, and stir until well-combined.
  4. Chop off the tops of the bell pepper, core and remove seeds and membranes from the inside. (If the bottoms are uneven, you can “prop” up in the baking dish or trim the bottoms to level them off.)
  5. Fill the raw peppers with meat mixture.
  6. Bake for 45 minutes.

Notes

  • I only had four bell peppers, but could have easily filled eight. Instead, I had lots of meat mixture left over and will eat over a bed of lettuce for lunch the next day.
  • You can use any combination of veggies. The key is to have them finely chopped. I used the Pampered Chef hand chopper. You could use a food processor. You’re replacing the rice, so that’s the “size” you’re looking for.
  • Many people pre-cook the bell peppers and/or add liquid to the pan. I find starting with raw peppers, using no liquid, and cooking 30-45 minutes gets perfectly al dente peppers. Also, I used Red Bell Peppers. ‘Cause they’re my favorite.
  • If you’re not so much doing strict paleo, or are vegetarian, you could definitely lesson the amount of meat and replace with quinoa. Make sure you use rinsed, uncooked quinoa, and cook 45-60 minutes.
  • The recipe as listed above is grain-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, gluten-free, etc. It is not vegetarian. Check to make sure that your crushed tomatoes and ground meat do not have added sugar to keep this sugar-free.

Amy first name only signature

No comments yet

Have something to say?

