Skip to content

Crossroads

February 22, 2013

I miss you, my fair readers. It has been awhile since I have put heart to pen (or, you know, fingers to keypad, or whatever). But I miss you, I do. I have been thinking about you all so much. Somehow I managed to write myself into a position where people actually take what I say seriously, and instead of running with it, I frequently get freaked out by that. I have a lot to say, but it can be scary to actually say it.

I have found myself at a crossroads, which I feel is pretty common for most people. At some point, everyone does find themselves there. Often more than once in life. A year ago, I was an unfit fitness blogger, with an itch to change my life, but not sure how and swimming in doubt. In the past year, my life has done a 360. For better…and for worse. And now I am trying to figure out how or where to go from here.

One big thing I learned this year (and I learned a lot!) is that you have to step out of your comfort zone for big change. Oh, I know, you are rolling your eyes at the cliche, we have all heard it before. Sure we have heard it, but have you really listened? I changed my life this past year. And it was not because I kept doing the same things over and over again. I stepped out. Way out. I put myself in Criticism’s Way. (Which is like Harm’s Way, but more emotional and painful.) I have been made fun of, pointed at, talked about. And if you know my personality, nothing freaks me out more than that! I never want to disappont someone or give them something negative to talk about where I am concerned. I am a people pleaser. Not the best personality trait for a revolutionary, no?

But today, I again find myself at an even bigger crossroads than I feel I was a year ago. This time last year, I just wanted to tackle some health issues. I did it. (Ha, you doctors who pissed me off and said I could not change my health issues by changing my diet!) In that time, I lost my father, and therefore, I lost a piece of the foundation that my life has been built on. My father died never having achieved what he really wanted in this life. While his death is assumed to be instantaneous (massive heart attacks will do that to you), I wonder if for just a brief second he realized that this was it. In those final milliseconds, did he realize that his time was over?

I do not want this to be morbid, so I apologize for going there for just a second. But in this past year, I learned that I can indeed accomplish anything. Add to that, if there is more I want to accomplish in this life, there is no point sitting around and waiting for the right time.

And so I share with you, then, that if I can step out of my comfort zone; if I can face criticism from my closest friends and family; if I can dare to fight for something that I really want, You Can, Too. And I repeat this to you, not just because I want you to hear it, because I need to hear it again, myself. Half of what I write here is written for myself. You are just invited to eavesdrop.

What Crossroads are you at? What will it take to push you through your comfort zone and out the other side?

I have lots of good recipes to share with you, promise. Hold me accountable on this, badger me until I post them. I will make every attempt to get some typed up this weekend and scheduled for the blog next week. HUGS and love to you all!

Amy first name only signature

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2013 1:44 pm

    At a major crossroads in my life too, right now. Maybe I`ll post about it someday but for now, running`s taking me through it and I can very much identify with your digging yourself out of your comfort zone to make a massive change in your life.

    • March 1, 2013 3:07 pm

      I would love to add running to my repertoire. I hear it can be life-changing. 🙂

Have something to say?

