Skip to content

Haters Gonna Hate

July 30, 2013

Just an FYI, if you are trying to accomplish something that is outside your norm or “The Norm,” you will experience Haters.

No doubt that the word hater is incredibly overused, but in this instance, it is the most-apt term for someone who is going to make your journey to get fit and healthy very…difficult. The Urban Dictionary (the reference book of our times!) defines a Hater as:

A person that simply cannot be happy for another person’s success. Instead of giving acknowledgment in courtesy, a hater often pursues his/her point by exposing a flaw in the target subject. Hating, the result of being a hater, is not exactly jealousy. The hater doesn’t really want to be the person he or she hates, rather the hater wants to knock somelse [sic] down a notch.

I have a hater. It sucks. It does not matter what I say or do, it is clear that this person will take everything from me as a negative. The more I try to improve myself and the more I try to help others, the more Hate I get. I have let this person’s criticism bog me down, let it hold me back, and even make me want to turn around and “go back to norm.”

Think of a famous successful person. Can you think of a time when this person did something, and someone did not have something negative to say? Maybe this famous person is someone you do not like, and you are the Hater. If you think this famous person is awesome, you may wonder why someone always has something nasty to say every time this famous person opens their mouth.

That is the nature of Haters. They will always be there. Their motivation does not really matter, because the fact is they exist, and in order to achieve something out of your norm, you are going to have to learn to Ignore Them. Trying to please does not help. Trying to explain does not help. Trying to get them on your side…does not help. Maybe they will change their point of view in their own time. But do not hold your breath. Let this person (or people) go. Even if they are a close family member, put on a coat of protective emotional armor when the Hate comes out.

One thing I learned in Jon Acuff’s book, Start, is Critics Math. When I posted my transformation picture and story back in the Spring, I had over 100 positive comments, emails, etc. And ONE extremely hate-filled reaction. One person in over 100 thinks I am a jacka**. If I do the math, that is less than 1%. That is like getting a 99.9% on a test. Why should that make me unhappy?  

What do you want out of life? What is your Goal?
Set your Goal, make a Plan, and do the Work. And Ignore the Haters!

And now…I give you these:

HatersGonnaHateLeo

hatersgonnapanda

haters2

Statler&WaldorfHaters

Big HUGS! You have a HUGE SUPPORTER in Me! 🙂

Amy first name only signature

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2013 8:08 am

    Sorry about the negativity you’ve received. For what it’s worth, I think you’re awesomesauce!

    • July 31, 2013 4:22 pm

      I think you’re pretty fantastic yourself! 🙂 Big HUGS, dear friend!

Have something to say?

