Skip to content

This is Your Sign: Slow Down

September 27, 2013

slow downI did not actually think my life was spiraling out of control. Sure, I have been hectic lately, but I am a busy mom, and that is Normal.

So I have a backlog of phone calls to return.
Emails piling up in the inbox.
Projects in various stages of completion (or non-completion, as the case may be) piling up around the house.
A couple of bill notices that must have slipped my mind.
Messages from friends asking if I am mad at them because of said backlog of phone calls.

But I was not getting the message. Oh, no, instead that little personal training workshop this past weekend only added swirling thoughts and amazing ideas to my already-at-peak-level brain activity. I have been happy and excited about all the possibility, not really sure when I am going to get it all done, but I am hanging in there, taking it a day at a time, right?

Clearly, Life had a different message for me, and started sending signs yesterday.

The biggest sign came first. I ran a red light. Like, RAN it. It was red before I approached it, when I went through it, after I passed it. I have never done this before. I was not on my phone, and I was no more distracted than I normally am when driving. My little four year old Beastie Boy asked me if he had time to play with a neighbor when we got home, I glanced down at the clock to see what time it was, and then looked back up and answered him. I saw a car entering the intersection from the cross street, and as I was thinking to myself, “Holy cow, that car is totally running a red light,” I glanced up to see that it was MY light that was Red.

Talk about freaked out. We were almost t-boned. Me and my little Beastie Boy. I swerved and stopped at the right curb. I sat there and cried; as cars passed me, I am sure they wondered about the crazy woman who almost caused a major car crash.

I still had to drive home and pick up the checkbook that Hubby forgot for the boy scout meeting. I just wanted to go home. As I pulled out of the parking lot (which is quite tight, but still), I ran over a parking block trying to get out. All I could think was, “What the hell is wrong with me?”

Determined to calm down for the rest of the evening, I relaxed on the couch before bedtime (not my norm!). As I stoop up to go to bed, I slammed my toe into the foot of the love seat. Hubby heard my toe crack from across the room. I can safely say that I have sprained the forth toe on my right foot.

This signs were not done.

This morning, as I logged into Facebook, I saw two different posts from two different friends from two different parts of my life post images about Slowing Down. Stop and Smell the Roses. Enjoy Your Life and Your Children NOW.

So here I am. I have a million and one ideas in my head, and they are all going to have to wait for now. What do I NEED to do today? Just worry about that right now. I invite you to STOP today, and tackle only what is truly important. You know, before anyone else gets hurt!

What are you rushed about today? What is really important in the scheme of things?
Big HUGS out there to all of you! heart copy

Amy first name only signature

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 16, 2013 4:17 am

    I totally understand this! Not once, but twice, I backed out of my driveway so fast, that I almost HIT walkers by. Oh my word! When the old man smacked my car to get me to stop, my heart stopped. Totally broke down in tears, with my 3 kids in the car. I was a blabbering mess. I think I completely freaked the old couple out! They at least accepted my apology and no one was hurt. 🙂
    But I definitely agree. Life gives us signs that we better slow down. Sometimes it’s hard to listen, but God has a way to make us listen. (Hence, your broken toe). This post has been a great reminder that I need to slow down before I break something, too. So thank you!!!

Have something to say?

