Skip to content

Oh, Complacency! How You Cloud My Self-Worth!

March 24, 2014

Quotation-Robert-M-Pirsig-living-life-future-live-goal-Meetville-Quotes-40933You set goals, you make plans, and if you are diligent and persistent, you reach those goals and then set new ones. Always moving forward, no matter what life throws at you, just keep moving. It is a tough place to find yourself, then, when you realize you have been slowly moving backward and did not even realize it.

Have you been there? Because I am there now. No beating around the bush. As of this morning, I have gained 15 pounds since sometime late last year.  Now, that number is not necessarily a problem; it is the side effects of carrying extra fat that my frame can not sustain. I am a bit achier. My posture is way off. This is not so much about not fitting into my jeans as it is the fact that I Feel The Weight. And it is wearing me down.

Oh, we all have reasons and excuses, and I certainly have mine. Last summer, I had the first of three minor injuries, all of which slowed me down a bit, but not necessarily enough to take me out. I let that happen anyway. I could not have guessed that I had a real knock-me-down coming, in the form of a severe ankle sprain, one which I am still healing from, three months later.

You know what that is?
Complacency.

Upon reaching a goal or milestone, it can happen. You are so proud of yourself, so exited you got “there,” that you do not stop to think about the long term. We hear it all the time, life is about the journey, not the destination. You never “figure it all out.” You never reach your final goal. You never stop growing and learning. Because when we stop learning and growing, we die.

Okay, so I did not literally die – it is just 15 pounds! – but I did get complacent, and I did stop growing. And now it has caught up to me, both mentally and physically.

So what am I going to do about it?
What do we do when we have found ourselves slipping down the mountain? We reset our grip and start the climb back up. These are not untraveled paths, we have been down these roads before. Just as small daily negative actions cause us to slip down the mountain, small daily positive actions are what we need to continue our climb back up.

You know what to do. I know what to do. Living healthy and fit is not rocket science; we have been reading tips on getting fit since we began to think our worth was wrapped up in our pants size when we were teens. And there it is! I lost my worth. 

And I am so worth more than complacency! So are you. Do you want do to this together? Because none of us – even so-called experts – can do this alone. YOU ARE WORTHY. I Am Worthy. Of feeling good, of feeling strong, of loving myself enough to care about the body God put in my hands. I will put down the bag of tortilla chips and head to the gym today. Want to meet me there?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Wendy permalink
    March 24, 2014 9:37 am

    Feel like this one was for me today. Thanks!

Have something to say?

