Skip to content

4 Lessons you can learn from Conference Speaking. Yep, You.

July 7, 2014

The last few months have been an unprecedented level of busy – with a complete computer shutdown and month offline thrown in there! – but I suspect, after an experience I had two weeks ago, that things are not slowing down. Readers, I finally got the gumption to speak at a Conference! Like, where people stand up on a stage. And talk. To strangers.

Yep. That's me. Talking. (Thankfully, not vomiting.)

Yep. That’s me. Talking. (Thankfully, not vomiting.)

I walked away with a lot more than just a tack-on to my resume. I learned that:

1. You are capable of a lot more than you give yourself credit for.

Most of us have been raised to fear failure and be wary of trying something out of the ordinary. I have always envied those that just get out there and do it, without fear of repercussion. I stepped up on stage prepared for complete failure. But I learned that when you are passionate about something, with purpose and heart, not to mention a solid dose of outside support, you can get out there and do well. I was not without blunder, I made some professional mistakes. But the “Professionals” that did speak? That have actually done this before, and even got paid for it? I got a “Kid, you got talent!” from those people. Friends, you got Talent, too! What is Your Talent?

2. People love Truth and Transparency.

The talks given at the LaunchOut conference were so inspirational. Everyone brought something to the table. But the ones people could not stop talking about? The ones full of Truth. When speakers got Transparent. Besides fearing failure and not coloring outside the lines, we are often told that personal business is, well, personal. And I will give you that you have to know your audience; a group of CEOs does not want to hear about my Thunder Thighs. But a group of people looking for inspiration and advice on stepping out of their comfort zone? They were ready for Real. My Facebook group page responds better to posts that share difficult parts of my life much more than lists on how to be Perfect. In a world of cynicism, extremes, celebrities out of control, and just plain old weird shit, the average person is going to connect to someone standing up and sharing their reality. Sharing their Story. Because people relate to Truth.

3. Awesomeness is not a one-time thing. It must be practiced. Daily.

I walked into that conference not only sure of failure, but also sure that I had used up all the Awesome I had.  And two weeks later, I finally see. When pursuing dreams, when stepping out of your comfort zone, you have to get up and Be Awesome everyday. You do not lose weight and gain muscle by eating perfect and going to the gym for one day. Nope. You get there by making small, consistent changes, sticking with it, deciding that everyday you are going to knock it out of the park. I do not really care what It is. Whatever makes you Awesome, it is your It, and you need to practice It, hone It, be It, daily. And if you are passionate about It, you will welcome and relish this!

4. Nerves will not kill you. Not even a little.

I was pretty sure I was going to throw up as I walked onstage. That is not just a saying, I actually felt the room sway, and my stomach came half way up my throat. And yet. I did not die. (I did not even actually throw up, which was a huge relief.) I am alive to tell about this experience. To share how awesome it was, and to, in turn, encourage you to face those Fears, feel those Nerves, and branch out to do what scares-yet-excites you! There is so much Life out there, waiting for you to Live. Because, in the end, that is what our spin on this Earth is all about. Our Life is meant for Living. Living requires you to get out there and do shit that scares you. Step outside and take the deep breaths. Reach for the stars, and all that motivational mumbo jumbo. Yes. That. Do it. You will not die, I promise you. You are Worth It.

If you do not follow me on Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter, then you may not have seen the actual talk. Take 15 minutes, grab a cup of tea or coffee, and let me know what you think!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2014 4:05 pm

    Girl, you are a rock star. Seriously, Amy! I’m so proud of you for stepping out and trying something that is so difficult for many others (public speaking). There’s much more that I want to say about your presentation, but I’ll touch base offline. {hugs} Good job!

    • July 7, 2014 4:09 pm

      Oh, I would LOVE your feedback, Angela! It would mean the world. This is what I want to do, and this is the message I want to share.
      And THANK YOU! I appreciate the support So much! ❤

  2. July 10, 2014 6:14 pm

    Amy, you were great on stage. Keep it up. Your personal version of awesome is growing every single day!

    • July 11, 2014 4:15 am

      Thank you Mr. Toolie! :*
      I so appreciate the support and encouragement, my friend.

Trackbacks

  1. The grief I don’t discuss | faith, sweat & tears

Have something to say?

